RECIPE – Ratatouille

Dear Sydney, Spring can come back now, please and thank you.  We’ve totally been thrown back into the depths of winter over the last few days, and it’s no fun for anyone. Even Smokey was having a whinge that she couldn’t go outside.  In weather like this, there’s nothing do be done but camp out inside and eat cosy food. Last night’s dinner was definitely cosy!

A grilled chicken breast with burnt butter and sage sauce, topped with ratatouille. It was my first time making ratatouille and I can safely say it’s going to be a staple for us next winter. It’s so easy, healthy, delicious and could easily be the basis of many meals. (I know, I know, ratatouille is supposed to have eggplant in it, but that’s not my favourite). 

Photo 17-11-13 7 23 08 PM


For enough ratatouille for two of us, I used the following quantities

  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 2 tbs garlic
  • 2 zucchinis
  • 1 small red capsicum
  • 1/2 a red onion
  • 1/2 punnet of cherry tomatoes
  • 2 bay leaves
  • small handful of fresh thyme leaves
  • big squirt of tomato sauce (tomato paste would’ve been better, but I didn’t have any)
  • small dash of water (perhaps, 50mls?) (stock would’ve been good too)
  • salt and pepper to taste

There’s really no method to this madness other than chop your veggies all into even size chunks around 1cm x 1cm, add them to a medium sized saucepan with the olive oil, garlic and bay leaves. Stir occasionally. After about 15mins they’d softened considerably and I added the squeeze of tomato sauce, water, s&p and thyme.

Meanwhile, I put two chicken breasts between two pieces of baking paper, and bashed them into thin pieces. (confession, I don’t have a meat mallet, I use a cocktail muddler!) I grilled them in a small amount of olive oil and at the end tossed in 50gm of butter, some roughly chopped sage leaves and a quick squeeze of lemon. Yummo!

That, my friends, is it! So simple, so yummy and so cosy!

Photo 17-11-13 6 57 28 PM

Photo 17-11-13 7 19 38 PM

Photo 17-11-13 7 23 08 PM

Apologies for the quality of the photos. This smelt so freaking delish that I nearly forgot to snap a pic at all. This really is as good as it gets folks.

Leave a comment